The NAS 2022 Annual General Meeting

Fellows of the Nigerian Academy of Science came together on Thursday, 27th of January, 2022 in Abuja for the Annual General Meeting. The meeting, which was preceded by the Academy’s third annual scientific conference, had some members both on-site and online.

The President, Professor Ekanem Braide FAS expressed her profound gratitude to all Fellows for their support and contributions in the year 2021. She explained that the AGM is being held in a hybrid manner, given the COVID-19 pandemic.


The AGM elected/constituted the Academy’s 46th Council as follows:

  1. Professor Ekanem Braide FAS – President
  2. Professor Abubakar Sambo FAS- Vice President
  3. Professor Oluwole Familoni FAS – Treasurer
  4. Professor Alex Acholonu – Foreign Secretary
  5. Professor Olanike Adeyemo – Chair, Publications Committee
  6. Professor Chidi Akujor – Academic Secretary Physical Sciences
  7. Professor Olatunde Farombi – Academic Secretary Biological Sciences
  8.      Professor Musbau Akanji – Public Affairs Secretary
  9. Professor Adenike Oladiji – Representative Biological Sciences
  10. Professor Suleiman Bogoro –                   “
  11. Professor Jacob Kwaga –                      “
  12. Professor Joseph Ahaneku –                        “
  13. Professor Jonathan Babalola –     Representative Physical Sciences
  14. Professor Kayode Adebowale –                                  “
  15. Professor Babajide Alo –                                        “
  16. Professor Micah Osilike –                                         “
  17. Professor Mosto Onuoha –                           Past President