News on Members

Professor Dennis Agboblahor, FAS was re-appointed as the African Society for Laboratory Medicine (ASLM) Ambassador in Nigeria for 3-year tenure by the Board and Management of ASLM. He had been appointed and served in this capacity in the past few years. The re-appointment is to express ASLM’s appreciation for the valuable services he voluntarily rendered over the past few years in Nigeria as an ASLM Ambassador. This appointment took effect on the 8th of November, 2017. As an Ambassador, some of Agbonlahor’s expected in-country responsibilities include developing and sustaining political engagements with and between local and national

The ASLM was established in 2011 as a Pan-African Professional Organisation charged with the responsibility of advocating the critical role and needs of laboratory medicine and networks across Africa.

Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, FAS was appointed the 12th substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lagos. Professor Ogundipe, a Professor of Botany, who was inducted as Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Science in May 2017 was the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics and Research) of the university.

Professor Chinedum Peace Babalola, FAS was appointed and inaugurated as the Vice Chancellor of Chrisland University, Abeokuta, Ogun State. Professor Babalola is a Professor of Pharmacy/Pharmacokinetics.

The immediate past president of the Nigerian Academy of Science, Professor Oyewale Tomori, FAS, has kept Nigeria’s flag flying with 80 other international members as he was inducted a member of the Class 2016, of the US National Academy of Medicine on the 14th of October, 2017 in Washington, USA.

Academy’s immediate past President, Professor Oyewale Tomori, FAS receiving an award