NAS Celebrating science reportage in Nigeria

Celebrating science reportage in Nigeria – NAS Science Media Award. 1. Print- Science Journalist of the year 2018 – Isaac Anyaogu (Business Day) 2. Runner-up, Print Category – Afeez Hanafi (Punch) 3. Broadcast-Science Journalist of the year – Ms....

NAS Media Award 2018

Africa independent television’s reporter /presenter, nkoli omhoudu has emerged winner of the 2018 Nigerian Academy of Science Media Award to become the broadcast science journalist of the year. The eighth edition of the award ceremony which held...

Visit to Nigeria’s first professor of medicine

Professor T.O. Ogunlesi FAS became a of Medicine in 1965, making him Nigeria's first professor of Medicine. He is a foundation fellow of the Acedemy as well as a past Vice President of the Academy. He retired in 1983

News on Members


THE NIGERIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCE GOLD MEDAL PRIZE 2019 FOR PHYSICAL SCIENCES The Council of the Nigerian Academy of Science (NAS) has instituted a prize which will be awarded to deserving Nigerian scientists called the “Nigerian Academy of Science...


NAS Gold Medal Award and Lecture Date: Tuesday, 15th of January, 2019 Time: 3pm Venue: Afe Babalola Hall. University of Lagos Campus, Akoka Yaba Lagos State


Professor Oyewusi Ibidapo-Obe FAS

Distinguished Professor Oyewusi Ibidapo-Obe FAS celebrated his 70th birthday thanksgiving on Friday, 5th of July, 2019. A black tie/full national dress reception was held in his honour where he launched Read more

Professor Friday Okonofua FAS

Professor Friday Okonofua FAS delivered the 7th Professor Adetokunbo Babatunde Sofoluwe Memorial Lecture on Thursday, 4th of July, 2019. His lecture titled ‘Re-thinking the archetypal medical education system in Nigeria’ was delivered at the Afe Babalola Auditorium, University of Lagos.  Read more